Latvia in Cannes 2019

Meet the team of National Film centre of Latvia and Latvian filmmakers!

 

 

LATVIAN PAVILION @ Marché du Film – No 209 @ Village International Pantiero ! Latvian Pavilion is organized by LIAA/Magnetic Latvia, The National Film Centre of Latvia, Film Producers Association of Latvia and Riga Film Fund.

 

LATVIAN PRODUCTION & LATVIAN CO-PRODUCTION @ DIRECTOR’S FORTNIGHT!

OLEG by Juris Kursietis (Latvia –Tasse Film, Belgium, Lithuania, France)
Latvian Oleg tries to make a living and finds a job in his profession, in a meat factory in Brussels. Betrayed by a colleague, this job doesn’t last. Oleg is then sheltered by the Polish migrant-worker mafia.
The film casts a multi-national ensemble of actors, including Valentin Novopolskij, Dawid Ogrodnik, Anna Próchniak, Adam Szyszkowski, Guna Zariņa, and Edgars Samītis.
Main producer of the film, the award winning Latvian production company Tasse Film, has nailed yet another successful international project  – this time with Belgian, Lithuanian and French partners.

Variety on OLEG

 

WATCH OLEG:

May 17 14:45 Theatre Croisette (50 La Croisette) French subtitles
 May 18 11:30 Cinéma Les Arcades / Salle 1 (77 rue Félix Faure) English subtitles
May 18 21:30 Studio 13 (23 avenue du Docteur Picaud) French subtitles
May 19 11:30 Theatre de La Licorne (25 avenue Francis Tonner) French subtitles

 

DOGS DON’T WEAR PANTS by J-P Valkeapää (Finland, Latvia – Tasse Film)
Juha has lost his wife in a drowning accident. Years after he still feels numb and unable to connect with people. Meeting Mona, a dominatrix, changes everything. Dogs Don’t Wear Pants is a darkly humorous story of loss, love and the sweet pain of being.
The film is a co-production with the Latvian company Tasse Film.

WATCH DOGS DON’T WEAR PANTS:

May 21 8:45 Theatre Croisette (50 La Croisette) French subtitles
May 21 21:00 Theatre Croisette (50 La Croisette) French subtitles
May 22 16:30 Cinéma Alexandre III (19 Boulevard Alexandre III) French subtitles
May 22 22:30 Cinéma Les Arcades / Salle 1 (77 rue Félix Faure) English subtitles

 

LATVIAN MARKET SCREENINGS

THE MOVER by Dāvis Sīmanis (Mistrus Media, LATVIA)
To save one life is to save the world. A true story about the Rigan Žanis Lipke, who hid dozens of people during the war.

The director Dāvis Sīmanis works also as a documentary director, scriptwriter, editor, story editor, lecturer as well as assistant DoP. He has received several National Film Awards in Latvia and his films have been widely screened internationally, including selections by IDFA, CPH:Dox, Visions du Réel, Dok Leipzig and Mocsow IFF.

WATCH THE MOVER: May 16, 14:00 @ Palais E

 

LOTTE AND THE LOST DRAGONS by Janno Poldma, Heiki Ernits (ESTONIA, LATVIA)
Lotte and her little sister Roosi decide to go find the fire-breathing dragons. After several adventures, Lotte and Roosi find their way to the dragons. Surprises await them there.
International Premiere Generation Kplus, Berlinale 2019

WATCH LOTTE AND THE LOST DRAGONS: May 18, 14:00 @ Palais G

 

LATVIAN PRODUCER INESE BOKA-GRŪBE @ PRODUCERS ON THE MOVE

Inese Boka-Grūbe is one of the founders of the Riga-based Mistrus Media, producing the feature film The Chronicles of Melanie by Viestur Kairish. She was the minority co-producer on Giedrė Beinoriūtė’s drama Breathing Into Marble, which premiered in the East of the West competition at Karlovy Vary in 2018, and the associate producer of Ivars Seleckis’ To Be Continued, which was Latvia’s official entry for the best foreign-language film for the 2019 Oscars. Another production, Dāvis Sīmanis’ historical drama The Mover, has its international premiere at the Moscow IFF in spring 2019.

MEET LATVIAN PRODUCERS @ MARCHÉ DU FILM
Aija Bērziņa/Producer/ Tasse Film/ aija@tasse.lv
Zane Bukša/Project coordinator/Tasse Film/ zane@tasse.lv
Jānis Kalējs/Producer/ Film Angels Studio/ studio@angels.lv
Inese Boka-Grūbe/ Producer/ Mistrus Media/ inese.boka@mistrusmedia.lv
Gints Grūbe/Producer/ Mistrus Media/ gints.grube@mistrusmedia.lv
Elīna Gediņa-Ducena/Producer/ Mistrus Media/ elina.gedina@mistrusmedia.lv
Laura Oliņa/Production Manager/ Fa Filma/ laura@fafilma.lv
Inga Praņevska/Producer/ Amber Sound/ inga.pranevska@gmail.com
Guna Stahovska/Producer/Mojo Raiser Production/ guna.stahovska@gmail.com
Ilona Bičevska/Producer/Avantis Promo/ ilona@avantis.lv
Roberts Vinovskis/Producer/ Locomotive Productions/ rv@locomotive.lv
Kristians Alhimionoks/Producer/ Platforma Filma/ kristians@platformafilma.com
Vilnis Kalnaellis/ Producer/ Rija Films/ vilnis.kalnaellis@rijafilms.lv

 

NEW CASH REBATE up to 40-50%!

MEET RIGA FILM FUND:
Dace Lešinska/Director/ dace.lesinska@riga.lv

MEET NATIONAL FILM CENTRE OF LATVIA:
Inga Blese/ Film Production/ inga.blese@nkc.gov.lv
Dita Rietuma/Director/ dita.rietuma@nkc.gov.lv
Elīna Cire/ Film Promotion, Festivals/ elina.cire@nkc.gov.lv

MEET RIGA INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL TEAM
Liene Treimane/Festival director/ liene@rigaiff.lv
Sonora Broka/Artistic director/ sonora@rigaiff.lv
Kristīne Simsone Children’s program & VR/ kristine@rigaiff.lv

MEET RIGA FILM FORUM
Zane Biteniece/ Forum Director/ Zane.Biteniece@liaa.gov.lv

 

15.05.2019.